New Fitness Approach – Continues …

workout clothes

Rather than continue to recount exercises this week, I’ll tell you this about something much more interesting: WORKOUT CLOTHING!

I often jog through my neighborhood or just pop in for a quick class 1-2 times a week at my local gym. I rarely do anything more than throw on a t-shirt and some random shorts or stretchy pants. I know I’m going to be sweating, red-faced and panting, so what’s the point? Now, having to get up and have clean, decent-looking clothes (Infinity Personal Training classes are in front of a mirror and I have to see myself) has been a challenge.

Add to this the backside exposure that comes from doing burpees, man-makers, and mountain climbers, and I personally have a wardrobe malfunction challenge. So, my advice:

  • When you try on new workout clothes, do all kinds of weird movements in the dressing room. If it’s going to ride up or down, you want to know before you buy!
  • Ladies, go to a specialty shop for sports bras and get help if you’ve got anything more than an A cup. Trust me. It’s worth it.
  • Get pants or shorts that are primarily dark colored. It’s easier to match, and it disguises sweat splotches better than light colors. If there’s some color in it, go for either neutral of lots of different colors so it will match lots of different shirts.
  • Fabric — Wicking fabric is best, but cotton shirts feel much better when you mop sweat from your face on your shoulder!  Stretchy, wicking fabrics are pretty comfortable for the bottom half and in hot temperatures.
  • If your arms aren’t toned, tank tops and cap sleeves are not your friends. (I’m speaking from experience here). If you don’t want to see the jiggle in your arms while you’re working your way to sculpted biceps, stick with mid-length short sleeves.
  •  Shorts should not be too short for this type of class. There’s a lot of movement of all kinds … I guarantee you’ll flash more than you want. Related note – check all your pants for wear and tear — literally.  You don’t want to discover after the fact that the pants’ crotch or butt area had a big hole in it.
  • I am an outspoken fan of the trend for compression pants under shorts for guys – ladies, too, if they want!
  • Choose capri length pants, full-length or mid-thigh, based on your comfort level. I personally do not like mid-thigh because I don’t want to show off what’s under there (at least not yet).
  • REWARD yourself for your hard work with new workout clothes. They can be expensive, but if you hit sales or clearance racks, you’ll find it’s very doable.

Leave a comment